Cyber Essentials

Guard against the most common cyber-security threats and demonstrate your commitment to cyber-security by becoming Cyber Essentials Accreditation.

Get in Touch

Explore More

Cyber Essentials

Pentest People are a Cyber Essentials Certifying Body and can provide a consultancy service to help you at all stages of your Cyber Essentials accreditation journey.

Cyber Essentials is a UK Government led and industry-backed scheme that helps organisations of all sizes protect themselves against common cyber-security threats.

From the 1st October 2014, the UK Government requires all suppliers bidding for contracts involving the handling of certain sensitive and personal information to be certified against the CE scheme.

There are currently two levels of certification, Stage 1 which is the basic level and Stage 2 which is also referred to as Cyber Essentials PlusPentest People can help you understand critical infrastructure cybersecurity in order to secure the full certification at both levels including performing the certification assessment.

We can help you through Cyber Essentials and Cyber Essentials Plus for a guaranteed pass

Cyber Essentials (Stage 1)

The initial level of Cyber Essentials certification is delivered through SecurePortal as a self-assessment questionnaire that covers the five technical controls and then an external vulnerability scan of your external facing network.

You are assessed against the answers to your questionnaire and the results of the external Penetration Test. Stage 1 certification awards the Cyber Essentials accreditation and the associated use of the logo.

More info

Cyber Essentials Plus (Stage 2)

The more advanced level of Cyber Essentials certification relies upon the same protections as Stage 1 but the certification is carried out on your business premises and also includes an internal vulnerability scan of a common workstation build.

Your antivirus protections both via the web and email are manually tested whilst onsite to ensure that your tools of choice are protecting the level of cybersecurity required to achieve Cyber Essentials Plus.

You are assessed against the answers to your questionnaire and the results of the external vulnerability scan. Stage 2 certification awards the Cyber Essentials Plus accreditation and the associated use of the logo.

In order to achieve Stage 2 certification, you have to first achieve Stage 1 certification.

More info on CE Plus

How Can Our Consultancy Service Help?

Pentest People are a Cyber Essentials Certifying Body and can perform and accredit you to both Stage 1 and Stage 2 of Cyber Essentials.

As well as the certification, Pentest People can also offer penetration testing services including a GAP analysis against the 5 technical controls to ensure that you have adequate controls in place before you undertake a paid Stage 1 assessment.

Take a read through IASME’s Cyber Essentials Information.

More information can be found on the NCSC Cyber Essentials Homepage.

Find Out more

Cyber Essentials and Cyber Essentials
Plus Accreditation Opens Multiple Doors For Your Business


Increase Reputation

Receive a UK Government recognised Cybersecurity Accreditation for your business.

Cyber Essentials & CE Plus are widely recognised cybersecurity certificates throughout many industries.


Government Directory

Be listed on a Government Directory of cyber secure organisations awarded Cyber Essentials.

Clients may check this list to make sure they’re working with. CE accredited organisation.


New Business

Attract new business with the promise you have cyber security measures in place.

Most companies and clients look at CE as the benchmark for businesses online security.

Key Benefits

With Cyber Essentials & CE Plus you can let companies & customers know you take your online security posture seriously

  • Reassure your existing and potential customers that you take cyber-security seriously
  • Be listed on the UK Government Directory of organisations awarded Cyber Essentials
  • Attract new business with the promise you have cyber-security measures in place backed up with a recognised accreditation
  • Be able to remediate any identified vulnerabilities within your organisations network infrastructure
  • Have the confidence that you are protected from the most common cyber-security risks within your organisation

Frequently Asked Questions

Cyber Essentials is Stage 1 Consists of a Self Assessment Questionnaire and external vulnerability assessment of your Internet-facing infrastructure. Cyber Essentials Plus is Stage 2 extends Stage 1 by performing an onsite assessment of security controls including an internal authenticated scan of your workstations and mobile devices.

In the overall process, your team will spend around 2hours to complete the questionnaire as well as organising the audit. If you can fix the issues identified quicker then we can get you certified quicker.

When you have undertaken your assessment and met all of the requirements of Cyber Essentials or Cyber Essentials plus you will receive the following: - An official PDF of your Cyber Essentials Certificate. - A compliant report detailing all findings from the assessment along with any recommendations where appropriate. - High-resolution Cyber Essentials logos along with branding guidelines on how to use the logos on your website and marketing materials. - Your organisation will be listed on the Government Website that shows your level of certification.